I CAN FINALLY CALL MYSELF A WRITER

Standard

I started out this year with some pretty lofty goals. I was going to be a screenwriter. I actually wrote two screenplays. I registered them with the copyright office and entered them in a number of competitions. And I didn’t win any of them. Didn’t even make the quarter finalists. Failure.

Failure isn’t new to me in writing. Ten years ago I wrote a bunch of short stories. Sent them off to a number of magazines. The only thing I collected was a whole bunch of rejection slips. So I kind of gave up on short story writing and these stories just faded into obscurity.

Well this year I read a post from L.S Engler. She was looking for stories for a new publication called World Unknown Review. I looked around and found these old stories on a disk. I figured what the hell and submitted one.

This week I received an e-mail message that my story was actually accepted. It was a bit surreal. I am so used to failure I didn’t know what to think. A story I wrote will actually be in a publication that other people will read. I will get paid for it. A whole $15. Now I ran the numbers and this is unfortunately inadequate for my current living needs. So I can not quit my day job and must continue working inside a cubicle the size and shape of a coffin.

I always thought that I couldn’t call myself a writer until I actually sold something. Well that day has finally come. It wasn’t the hundreds of thousand of dollars I wanted. Still it is a success and I’ll take any success that I can get. Who knows maybe ten years from now I can actually call myself a screenwriter.

12 thoughts on “I CAN FINALLY CALL MYSELF A WRITER

  1. Haha, man, it would be great to pay my WUR authors hundreds of thousands of dollars, but the project is still in its infancy. Give it a couple years, and maybe, just maybe, I might be able to pay $20! A whole $20!

    Mostly, I’m just glad people submitted. Can’t wait for it to be ready to introduce to the public! (And for everyone reading this, Michael’s story is really something awesome, so you should check it out once it’ published in December!)

  2. Congrats, that’s brilliant. Well done. Very well deserved success! It just goes to show if you keep persevering in this writing game, you’ll get there in the end.

    Thanks for following my blog BTW. I will follow you back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. If you write, and people see it, you’re a writer. Why do people think you have to go through a publisher to be a good writer? Even if you’re self published, you’re a writer. You just have to find a good editor.

Leave a Reply

